Press here to react
This Sunday, September 1st, it will be illegal for those under the age of 21 to purchase tobacco products. According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 9 out of 10 smokers tried it out for the first time at the age of 18 therefore 21-year-old's are less likely to pick up the habit in the first place.
Shelby Massey, the American Heart Association's government relations director for Texas said "It's very rate for a 30-year-old to take up smoking."
Texas will join 18 states to pass a statewide law and will be the 11th state to actually implement it joining Arkansas and Vermont on September 1st.